

It comes down to a flavour difference, and as they usually don't break games but do make it more interesting, I'm all for it!Īlthough, there is a bit of a mechanical consideration. I have no problem with a high-level druid turning into a megabadger of huge size - it's still the appropriate beast shape spell with the appropriate bonuses (same bonuses to ability scores and natural armour, same exclusive list to allowed bonuses, and while I'd increase the damage dice for its natural attacks, they're no different from what critters of that size can already get). After all, wildshape (and the spells it is based on) already limit your mechanical benefits. Helm of telepathy is one such item.I'd have no problem with such a ruling. You can't cast spells, because wild shape specifically says you can't cast spells.

Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item. If you can physically drink a potion, you can use it. You can use any consumable that you have the right body parts to activate. Some items are used up when the are activated. You can't speak in beast form, so you can't use a command word item. You need feet to wear boots, hands to wear gloves, and so on.Ī command word is a word or a phrase that must be spoken for the item to work. You can wear any item that your beast shape has the right body parts for. In most cases, a magic item that's meant to be worn can fit a creature regardless of size or build. You can't cast spells, and your ability to speak or take any action that requires hands is limited to the capabilities of your beast form.Īccording to the DMG, items activate by one of four methods:Ī magic item meant to be worn must be donned in the intended fashion. You can't cast a spell from an item in beast form, nor use anything that requires speech or a body part that your beast form doesn't have.

Naturally, once you hit level 18 in Druid, you would be quite capable of doing so. In this case, you are explicitly the one casting the spell ("from it" does not change this fact). While wearing this helm, you can use an action to cast the detect thoughts spell (save DC 13) from it. So while Wild Shaped into a beast with sufficient manual dexterity, you could drink a Potion of Heroism, and be under the effect of the Bless spell since it wasn't you who cast it.Ĭontrast this with the Helm of Telepathy (DMG, p. For the same duration, you are under the effect of the bless spell (no concentration required). 188, bold added):įor 1 hour after drinking it, you gain 10 temporary hit points that last for 1 hour. Note that there are some magical items which create the effect of spells without you being the one that cast them. With certain magic items, you could still gain the effects of spells " you would be able to cast spells in Wild Shape if your shape could perform the required components, or if there were none.Īs it stands, even if the spell requires no components, you still cannot cast it. If they has said "your ability to cast spells or speak or take any actions that requires hands. Note that the ability to cast spells is ruled out unconditionally. Take any action that requires hands is limited to the capabilities of your beast form. You can’t cast spells, and your ability to speak or The restrictions for Wild Shape state the following (PHB, p.
